Africa’s leading research and training center

Join Us

Kibale National Park offers amazing forests, exceptionally high biodiversity, and welcoming people, making it an incredible location to engage in research. The field station located here makes this research logistically easy and helps give back in every way possible. The field station additionally fosters a collaborative and enjoyable working environment, and this is something we work hard to maintain.

If you are either interested in research in Kibale or interested in long-term data sets, please reach out.

We would like to avoid situations such as students from different universities starting similar projects at the same time, a researcher starting a project that has already been completed but not yet published, repeatedly interviewing local community members about the same topic, etc. Collaborating from the beginning of projects can be very rewarding.

First and foremost reach out to David Tumusiime (tumusid@yahoo.com) and Patrick Omeja (Omejap@yahoo.com). You can learn more about their background on the “People Involved” page.

A few other people we might suggest reaching out to are the following:

CHIMPANZEE PROJECTS
https://kibalechimpanzees.wordpress.com/directors/
ngogochimps@gmail.com

PRIMATES, FOREST ECOLOGY, CLIMATE, CONSERVATION, CLINICS AND MOBILE CLINICS

Colin Chapman
Dept of Anthropology, George Washington University
Colin.Chapman.Research@gmail.com

Urs Kalbitzer
Konstantz University
urskalbitzer@gmail.com

Jan Gogarten
Robert Koch Institute
JanGogarten@gmail.com

Dipto Sarkar
Department of Geography
Carleton University, Ottawa

AQUATIC SYSTEMS, FISH
Lauren Chapman
Dept. of Biology, McGill University
Lauren.Chapman@McGill.ca

HUMAN DIMENSION OF CONSERVATION
Lisa Naughton
Dept. of Geography
lisa.naughton@wisc.edu

Catrina MacKenzie
Department of Geography, University of Vermont
camaken@uvm.edu

Dipto Sarkar
Department of Geography, Carleton University, Ottawa
dipto.sarkar@carleton.ca

David Tumusiime
tumusid@yahoo.com

INSECT ECOLOGY AND FOOD WEBS, BEE AND POLLINATION
Anu Valtonen
University of Eastern Finland
anu.valtonen@uef.fi

Jonas Kuppler
Ulm University
jonas.kuppler@mail.de

RESTORATION
Colin Chapman
George Washington University
Colin.Chapman.Research@gmail.com

Patrick Omeja
Makerere University
Omejap@yahoo.com

Anu Valtonen
University of Eastern Finland
anu.valtonen@uef.fi

GIS

Dipto Sarkar
Department of Geography, Carleton University, Ottawa
dipto.sarkar@carleton.ca

DISEASE (WILDLIFE AND HUMAN)
Tony Goldberg
School of Veterinary Medicine, University of Wisconsin
tony.goldberg@wisc.edu

Colin Chapman
Dept of Anthropology, George Washington University
Colin.Chapman.Research@gmail.com

Jan Gogarten
Robert Koch Institute
JanGogarten@gmail.com